Scott J FrankAbout MeBlogMusicArtworkPhotosLinksResume

Albums Turning Twenty I: Earthling, by David Bowie

- Friday, February 3, 2017

3 February: David Bowie – Earthling

18 February: Lost Highway soundtrack
3 March: Ulver – Nattens Madrigal
25 March: GWAR – Carnival Of Chaos
22 April: Ani Difranco – Living In Clip
20 May: Foo Fighters – The Colour And The Shape
30 May: Dimmu Borgir – Enthrone Darkness Triumphant
16 June: Radiohead – OK Computer
8 July: Emperor – Anthems To The Welkin At Dusk
16 August: Mayhem – Deathcrush
30 September: Portishead – Portishead
25 November: nine inch nails – Closure

    The year 1997 was a big one for me both personally and socially. My band Morpheus was wrought from nightmares, a number of very influential albums were released, and my personal life was winding up in a crescendo of self-discovery and debauchery. That was twenty years ago, now. The scale of this chunk of time which has passed in relation to my own life is something significant to me, so I would like to write a little bit about each album on their release dates.

Our first highlight is the late and revered David Bowie’s Earthling


Earthling is a musical masterpiece. Coming off of his dip into Outside‘s more industrial inspirations and time touring with nine inch nails, Mr. Bowie assembled a somewhat lighter sounding, electronica drum & bass inspired exploration into his universe. The singles Little Wonder, Dead Man WalkingSeven Years in Tibet, and I’m Afraid Of Americans, the latter of which gave birth to a fantastic remix with Trent Reznor, truly highlight the album. Other high points include the breakbeat laden Telling Lies and Battle For Britain. Mr. Bowie takes us on a journey from energetic uptempo electronica into a low key groove, still seasoning with industrial sentiment here and there. This is no surprise considering the album was conceived less than a week after finishing the Outside tour, the US leg of which was accompanied by (and contained collaborations with) nine inch nails. Earthling can be seen as the end of a journey that began with Outside. Or it can be seen as an evolution of the current Bowie was commanding. Either way, this album must be owned.

One Response to “Albums Turning Twenty I: Earthling, by David Bowie”

  1. […] « Albums Turning Twenty I: Earthling, by David Bowie […]

Leave a Comment